EBN Articles http://www2.buildinggreen.com/rss/articles en Rubber Flooring: A Good Use for Old Car Tires? http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/rubber-flooring-good-use-old-car-tires 22410 2016-02-09 2 2016 Rubber flooring is getting greener overall, but tire-derived products are still an iffy proposition. Product News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/rubber-flooring-good-use-old-car-tires Three Hazardous Textile Treatments and How to Avoid Them http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/three-hazardous-textile-treatments-and-how-avoid-them 22414 2016-02-09 2 2016 You can avoid the most toxic textile treatments with proper fabric selection and maintenance. Feature Shorts 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/three-hazardous-textile-treatments-and-how-avoid-them Two Manufacturers Offer Greener Rubber Flooring http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/two-manufacturers-offer-greener-rubber-flooring 22411 2016-02-09 2 2016 Is rubber flooring sustainable? The jury is still out on most products, but nora and Artigo offer the best on the market. Product Review 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/two-manufacturers-offer-greener-rubber-flooring Four Credible Certifications to Aid Contract Textile Selection http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/four-credible-certifications-aid-contract-textile-selection 22415 2016-02-09 2 2016 Textile standards and certifications look at fiber production, life cycle, chemistry, and more, but in the U.S. they are just gaining traction. Feature Shorts 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/four-credible-certifications-aid-contract-textile-selection A Guide to Selecting Sustainable Textiles http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/guide-selecting-sustainable-textiles 22412 2016-02-09 2 2016 Textiles’ good looks hide an ugly environmental legacy, but there are five straightforward ways to make responsible design choices. Feature 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/guide-selecting-sustainable-textiles The High Price of Stain Resistance: Environmental Persistence http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/high-price-stain-resistance-environmental-persistence 22416 2016-02-09 2 2016 Perfluorochemicals increase product longevity. Though these PFCs don’t last forever on our textiles and carpets, they do stick around in our bodies BackPage Primer 18491 Brent Ehrlich 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/high-price-stain-resistance-environmental-persistence The Big Materials Dream Needs to Include Climate Change and More http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/big-materials-dream-needs-include-climate-change-and-more 22407 2016-02-09 2 2016 We’re finally getting vital toxicity information about building products. But let’s remember that sustainability is about more than avoiding health hazards. Op-Ed 18495 Nadav Malin http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/big-materials-dream-needs-include-climate-change-and-more Textile Choices: Cleaner Options for Every Application http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/textile-choices-cleaner-options-every-application 22413 2016-02-09 2 2016 Standard textiles can have a toxic, devastating impact on our environment. Your project can do better. Feature Shorts 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/textile-choices-cleaner-options-every-application Phthalates Absorbed More Readily Than Previously Thought http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/phthalates-absorbed-more-readily-previously-thought 22405 2016-01-28 2 2016 SVOCs like phthalates are released into the air, according to a new study, so you’re breathing and absorbing them, not just eating them. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/phthalates-absorbed-more-readily-previously-thought LEED v4 Tips from Early Adopters: Earn High Ratings Without Added Costs http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-v4-tips-early-adopters-earn-high-ratings-without-added-costs 22384 2016-01-04 1 2016 You can avoid lower LEED v4 scores and keep costs in check. Here’s how—including the pitfalls you need to watch out for. Feature 18480 Paula Melton 22418 Robert G. Andrews Jr. http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-v4-tips-early-adopters-earn-high-ratings-without-added-costs Green Chemistry Meets Green Building http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-chemistry-meets-green-building 22388 2016-01-04 1 2016 What is green chemistry, and how does it fit into LEED? We explain the relationship—and some tensions. BackPage Primer 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-chemistry-meets-green-building Greenest of the Green Energy-Saving Products from Greenbuild http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/greenest-green-energy-saving-products-greenbuild 22386 2016-01-04 1 2016 The Greenbuild 2015 expo featured some exciting innovations, including a DC-powered “net-zero energy zone.” Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/greenest-green-energy-saving-products-greenbuild Greenest Greenbuild Products for the Indoor Environment and More http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/greenest-greenbuild-products-indoor-environment-and-more 22387 2016-01-04 1 2016 We look at products that improve indoor environmental quality and check in on advances from previous Top 10 winners. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/greenest-greenbuild-products-indoor-environment-and-more A New Year’s Toast to Practically Perfect Products http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-year-s-toast-practically-perfect-products 22385 2015-12-22 1 2016 Our Top 10 products are leading toward a more sustainable future. They are not perfect, but let’s not let a desire for perfection be the enemy of the good. Op-Ed 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-year-s-toast-practically-perfect-products Employee Performance Doubled in Well-Ventilated Buildings http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/employee-performance-doubled-well-ventilated-buildings 22381 2015-12-10 1 2016 Reducing VOCs and adding more fresh air resulted in cognitive function test scores that were 101% higher in a double-blind study. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/employee-performance-doubled-well-ventilated-buildings What Makes the Building Envelope Green? BuildingGreen’s Guide to Thermal & Moisture Protection Products http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/what-makes-building-envelope-green-buildinggreen-s-guide-thermal-moisture-protection-product 22324 2015-12-01 12 2015 From insulation to flashing tape to cladding, we look at the attributes of the greenest building envelope products. Feature 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/what-makes-building-envelope-green-buildinggreen-s-guide-thermal-moisture-protection-product Capillary Breaks: How to Get Them Right the First Time http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/capillary-breaks-how-get-them-right-first-time 22320 2015-12-01 12 2015 Most people understand that they need drainage—but they forget to plan for the water that flows uphill, and disaster can result. BackPage Primer 18480 Paula Melton 18760 Peter Yost http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/capillary-breaks-how-get-them-right-first-time New Tool Compares VOC Content of Coatings for Product Selection http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-tool-compares-voc-content-coatings-product-selection 22329 2015-11-30 12 2015 Healthy Building Network’s CompAIR calculator allows you to compare the total VOCs of wet-applied coatings based on coverage and other factors. News 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-tool-compares-voc-content-coatings-product-selection BuildingGreen Announces Top 10 Products for 2016 http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/buildinggreen-announces-top-10-products-2016 22321 2015-11-18 12 2015 These transformative products replace greenhouse gases, save water, and change how we view HVAC equipment. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/buildinggreen-announces-top-10-products-2016 Resilient Design Pilot Credits Added to LEED http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/resilient-design-pilot-credits-added-leed 22322 2015-11-16 12 2015 Three new pilot credits encourage resilience in the new reality of climate change. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/resilient-design-pilot-credits-added-leed USGBC, Chemical Industry Reach Historic Compromise on Product Optimization http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/usgbc-chemical-industry-reach-historic-compromise-product-optimization 22319 2015-11-13 12 2015 Option 3 of the LEED v4 Material Ingredients credit rewards manufacturers for chemical management up the supply chain. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/usgbc-chemical-industry-reach-historic-compromise-product-optimization In Search of High-Quality Hazard Data: HPDs Have Promise, but Most Aren’t Helpful Yet http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/search-high-quality-hazard-data-hpds-have-promise-most-aren-t-helpful-yet 22294 2015-11-02 11 2015 HPD version 1.0’s promise of greater material transparency didn’t always deliver, but version 2.0 should provide accurate reporting. Feature Shorts 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/search-high-quality-hazard-data-hpds-have-promise-most-aren-t-helpful-yet How Google Uses HPDs to Choose Building Products http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-google-uses-hpds-choose-building-products 22287 2015-11-02 11 2015 The Portico program turns chemical disclosure into a powerful decision-making tool. Feature Shorts 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-google-uses-hpds-choose-building-products Chemical Ingredients in Building Products: What Do You Really Need to Know? http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/chemical-ingredients-building-products-what-do-you-really-need-know 22291 2015-11-02 11 2015 HPDs can’t be used in isolation to make decisions about the safety and environmental performance of a product. Op-Ed http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/chemical-ingredients-building-products-what-do-you-really-need-know What’s an HPD? Health Product Declaration FAQs http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/what-s-hpd-health-product-declaration-faqs 22284 2015-11-02 11 2015 We answer frequently asked questions on HPDs, which allow manufacturers to disclose product ingredients and hazards. Feature Shorts 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/what-s-hpd-health-product-declaration-faqs