EBN Articles http://www2.buildinggreen.com/rss/articles en Chemical Footprinting: Companies Take Stock of Their Toxic Impact http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/chemical-footprinting-companies-take-stock-their-toxic-impact 21953 2015-06-01 6 2015 Harmful chemicals are more difficult to quantify than carbon emissions but are equally destructive. Now you can track manufacturers’ chemical footprints. BackPage Primer 18478 Candace Pearson 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/chemical-footprinting-companies-take-stock-their-toxic-impact Can Bioinspired Innovations Find Economic Footing? http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-bioinspired-innovations-find-economic-footing 21957 2015-06-01 6 2015 Biophilia and biomimicry captivate the mind and senses, but are they economically viable? A report from Terrapin Bright Green says yes. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-bioinspired-innovations-find-economic-footing New Online Portal for AIA 2030 Eases Burden of Reporting http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-online-portal-aia-2030-eases-burden-reporting 21943 2015-05-19 6 2015 You can ditch the reporting spreadsheets. Benchmarking the 2030 Commitment is now streamlined online. Newsbrief 18495 Nadav Malin http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-online-portal-aia-2030-eases-burden-reporting Building Owners “Shafted” by Antiquated Fire Codes http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/building-owners-shafted-antiquated-fire-codes 21924 2015-04-28 5 0 In NYC and beyond, old regulations for elevator shafts waste energy —to the tune of millions of dollars every year. Urban Green Council offers solutions. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/building-owners-shafted-antiquated-fire-codes White Roofs in Cold Climates a Mistake, Says LCA Study http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/white-roofs-cold-climates-mistake-says-lca-study 21925 2015-04-28 5 0 While roofs with solar panels are a plus, researchers suggest white roofs in Canada do more harm than good because of steep heating penalties. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/white-roofs-cold-climates-mistake-says-lca-study How to Make Integrated Project Delivery Work for Your Project http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-make-integrated-project-delivery-work-your-project 21902 2015-04-22 5 0 Early successes with IPD are now legendary but also fostered misconceptions. We deconstruct those and provide tips to ensure collaboration translates to results. Feature 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-make-integrated-project-delivery-work-your-project Polyiso Impacts Are High, but Performance May Make Up for Them http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/polyiso-impacts-are-high-performance-may-make-them 21899 2015-04-21 5 0 An EPD for polyisocyanurate insulation shows large embodied impacts while suggesting R-value cancels some of them out. Product News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/polyiso-impacts-are-high-performance-may-make-them Innovative Australian Fan Blows Into U.S. http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/innovative-australian-fan-blows-us 21897 2015-04-20 5 0 A new energy-efficient fan from Aeratron offers performance and looks at a reasonable cost. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/innovative-australian-fan-blows-us Getting “Conflict Minerals” Out of Our Products http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/getting-conflict-minerals-out-our-products 21898 2015-04-20 5 0 While “blood diamonds” get attention, mining of metals like tin and tungsten helps finance civil wars. Here’s a look at the movement to change that. BackPage Primer 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/getting-conflict-minerals-out-our-products AIA Top Ten Projects Demonstrate High Ideals on a Real-World Budget http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aia-top-ten-projects-demonstrate-high-ideals-real-world-budget 21893 2015-04-17 5 0 2015 Project awards from the AIA’s Committee on the Environment (COTE) celebrate how mainstream good design can be. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aia-top-ten-projects-demonstrate-high-ideals-real-world-budget California Could Go Solar Without Destroying Habitat http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/california-could-go-solar-without-destroying-habitat 21894 2015-04-17 5 0 If PV were installed only in developed locations throughout California, the state could meets its energy needs three to five times over. News 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/california-could-go-solar-without-destroying-habitat Reduce Your Audit Risk with the R&D Tax Credit: Five Tips http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/reduce-your-audit-risk-rd-tax-credit-five-tips 21896 2015-04-17 5 0 The federal R&D credit looks like low-hanging fruit, but there might be a worm in the apple. Experts share lower-risk ways for AEC firms to file. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/reduce-your-audit-risk-rd-tax-credit-five-tips LEED Offers Living Building Challenge Alignment http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-offers-living-building-challenge-alignment 21878 2015-04-10 5 0 Projects certified under LBC will be able to get full LEED credit in energy and water categories without added documentation. News 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-offers-living-building-challenge-alignment Finding Furniture Without Toxic Flame Retardants http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/finding-furniture-without-toxic-flame-retardants 21849 2015-04-06 4 2015 Flame retardants in upholstered furniture are easier to avoid under new rules, but they’re not gone. Here’s how to navigate the changing landscape. Feature 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/finding-furniture-without-toxic-flame-retardants Carbon and Financial Payback Mismatched in Retrofits http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/carbon-and-financial-payback-mismatched-retrofits 21846 2015-04-06 4 2015 Lighting, windows, or the chiller? Choosing a retrofit package is all the more tricky when dollar and carbon ROI are at odds. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/carbon-and-financial-payback-mismatched-retrofits The Five Hazard Warnings You Can Usually Ignore http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/five-hazard-warnings-you-can-usually-ignore 21850 2015-04-06 4 2015 Can you identify which toxic chemicals listed on an HPD probably can’t hurt you? BackPage Primer 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/five-hazard-warnings-you-can-usually-ignore A New, Cost-Effective Take on Vacuum Insulation http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-cost-effective-take-vacuum-insulation 21847 2015-04-06 4 2015 “Modified atmosphere insulation” technology may be able to rival the performance of vacuum insulation panels at a more affordable price. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-cost-effective-take-vacuum-insulation 10919 Aerogel Coating May Reduce Thermal Bridging http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aerogel-coating-may-reduce-thermal-bridging 21851 2015-04-06 4 2015 Thermal breaks can be pricey and may affect structural integrity. Aerolon is a non-structural alternative designed to have similar benefits. Product Review 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aerogel-coating-may-reduce-thermal-bridging 12377 Can Products Do More Good Than Harm? The Living Product Challenge http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-products-do-more-good-harm-living-product-challenge 21848 2015-04-02 4 2015 ILFI is challenging companies to make a product with a positive “handprint” rather than a “footprint.” And it has to be affordable. Product News 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-products-do-more-good-harm-living-product-challenge Green Globes’ Yudelson to Continue Labors at Mt. Olympus http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-globes-yudelson-continue-labors-mt-olympus 21827 2015-04-01 Having failed at his recent task of making Green Globes a credible standard, Yudelson still has twelve to complete. April Fools 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-globes-yudelson-continue-labors-mt-olympus Bewitching Designs Snag Coveted Resilience Awards http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/bewitching-designs-snag-coveted-resilience-awards 21832 2015-04-01 Self-propulsion wins the night at this year’s Rizzies, but a controversy brews. April Fools 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/bewitching-designs-snag-coveted-resilience-awards Judge Robs Yost of Gold Medal in WUFI Modeling http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/judge-robs-yost-gold-medal-wufi-modeling 21828 2015-04-01 Despite a perfect 10 for Yost from two of the judges, this year’s WUFIlympics gold medal goes to Terry Brennan. April Fools 18480 Paula Melton 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/judge-robs-yost-gold-medal-wufi-modeling WELL Building Auditor Will Drink Your Milkshake http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/well-building-auditor-will-drink-your-milkshake 21825 2015-04-01 The WELL standard for healthy spaces and lifestyles is backed by onsite auditing, but some occupants would prefer to slowly kill themselves in peace. April Fools 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/well-building-auditor-will-drink-your-milkshake Scientists Report 165% Performance Boost from New Additive http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/scientists-report-165-performance-boost-new-additive 21829 2015-04-01 The industry’s most respected semanticists have developed a new eco-prefix—but do they have the numbers to back up their claims? April Fools 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/scientists-report-165-performance-boost-new-additive AIA-Certified Projects Pulling Ahead of LEED http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aia-certified-projects-pulling-ahead-leed 21826 2015-04-01 Pilot AIA-certified green projects are changing the rules for “green,” throwing sacred cows out of the many, many windows. April Fools 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aia-certified-projects-pulling-ahead-leed