EBN Articles http://www2.buildinggreen.com/rss/articles en Greenwash Getting Easier to Spot, But Still Confusing http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/greenwash-getting-easier-spot-still-confusing 21045 2014-12-19 1 2015 A survey shows consumers generally find value in third-party product certifications but can be confused by less credible claims if not provided enough context. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/greenwash-getting-easier-spot-still-confusing USGBC, Chemical Industry Begin Talks http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/usgbc-chemical-industry-begin-talks 21043 2014-12-19 1 2015 You say “risk” and I say “hazard,” but we can’t call the whole thing off. So the Supply Chain Optimization Working Group is set to begin its work. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/usgbc-chemical-industry-begin-talks Material Health Tools Harmonize http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/material-health-tools-harmonize 21044 2014-12-19 1 2015 Manufacturers should get more consistent signals as Cradle to Cradle, GreenScreen, Pharos, and other tools align, while staking out niches. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/material-health-tools-harmonize AIA Prioritizes Resilient Design, Product Transparency http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aia-prioritizes-resilient-design-product-transparency 21042 2014-12-18 1 2015 New statements on resilience and healthy materials expand the AIA’s environmental advocacy. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aia-prioritizes-resilient-design-product-transparency Cool Products from the Latest Greenbuild Expo http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/cool-products-latest-greenbuild-expo 20798 2014-12-01 12 2014 We scoured the Greenbuild expo floor for the best new products and the most interesting updates. Then we whittled it down to these standouts. Feature 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/cool-products-latest-greenbuild-expo Phthalate Levels Connected to Reproductive Troubles http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/phthalate-levels-connected-reproductive-troubles 20788 2014-12-01 12 2014 Dashing female libido and shrinking your son’s male parts are now on the list of health hazards associated with phthalates. Now do we have your attention? Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/phthalate-levels-connected-reproductive-troubles Mechanical—Not Natural—Drying Is a Must After a Flood http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/mechanical-not-natural-drying-must-after-flood 20802 2014-12-01 12 2014 Long-term research confirms that airing it out doesn’t cut the mustard (or the mold) after major moisture damage. Newsbrief 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/mechanical-not-natural-drying-must-after-flood The Surprising Connection Between Water Conservation and Deadly Infections http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/surprising-connection-between-water-conservation-and-deadly-infections 20795 2014-12-01 12 2014 Legionella and other pathogens can proliferate in pipes and low-flow fixtures, threatening the health of vulnerable people. BackPage Primer 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/surprising-connection-between-water-conservation-and-deadly-infections 22 42 39: Commercial Faucets, Controls, and Trim 22 42 42: Commercial Showerheads 14 Design Patterns: Report Puts Science Behind Biophilia http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/14-design-patterns-report-puts-science-behind-biophilia 20789 2014-12-01 12 2014 Designers are given specific guidance on how to interpret and utilize the “14 Patterns of Biophilic Design” in a new report. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/14-design-patterns-report-puts-science-behind-biophilia Polyiso Manufacturers Turn Blind Eye to Problems at Cold Temperatures http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/polyiso-manufacturers-turn-blind-eye-problems-cold-temperatures 20796 2014-12-01 12 2014 R-values that fluctuate with temperature can be a serious problem with polyiso in some climates. New design guidance could help. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/polyiso-manufacturers-turn-blind-eye-problems-cold-temperatures 07 00 00: Thermal and Moisture Protection Faucets That Combat Infection Without Wasting Water http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/faucets-combat-infection-without-wasting-water 20793 2014-12-01 12 2014 New technology from Rada helps prevent life-threatening Legionella and other pathogens from growing in pipes and faucets—a big problem in healthcare. Product Review 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/faucets-combat-infection-without-wasting-water 22 42 39: Commercial Faucets, Controls, and Trim 22 42 42: Commercial Showerheads Perkins+Will Shares Strategies to Avoid Flame Retardants http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/perkinswill-shares-strategies-avoid-flame-retardants 20800 2014-12-01 12 2014 A chemist and an interior designer team up to compile design guidance for reducing exposure to harmful chemicals. Newsbrief 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/perkinswill-shares-strategies-avoid-flame-retardants Harmful Chemicals May Leach from PEX into Drinking Water http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/harmful-chemicals-may-leach-pex-drinking-water 20797 2014-12-01 12 2014 Replacing PVC with untested substitutes? New research shows how little we understand about how plumbing materials affect indoor water quality. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/harmful-chemicals-may-leach-pex-drinking-water 22 11 16: Domestic Water Piping New Nanomaterial Could Dramatically Improve Concentrating Solar http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-nanomaterial-could-dramatically-improve-concentrating-solar 20801 2014-12-01 12 2014 A team of researchers at UC–San Diego has developed a silicon-based material with 90% conversion efficiency and remarkable durability. Newsbrief 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-nanomaterial-could-dramatically-improve-concentrating-solar Solar Farms Offer Renewable Power for the Rest of Us http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/solar-farms-offer-renewable-power-rest-us 20794 2014-12-01 12 2014 Community solar allows customers with site limitations to purchase commercial-quality photovoltaic systems—and the Clean Energy Collective is making it easier. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/solar-farms-offer-renewable-power-rest-us 48 14 00: Solar Energy Electrical Power Generation Equipment EPA Ignoring Hundreds of Toxic Chemicals in Wastewater http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/epa-ignoring-hundreds-toxic-chemicals-wastewater 20799 2014-11-22 12 2014 An investigation finds that only a fraction of hazardous wastewater pollutants are regulated, and of those, only a handful are monitored. Newsbrief 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/epa-ignoring-hundreds-toxic-chemicals-wastewater First Existing Multifamily Buildings Earn Energy Star Certification http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/first-existing-multifamily-buildings-earn-energy-star-certification 20792 2014-11-22 12 2014 Tenants are saving more than $500 a year in one of the first existing apartment buildings to be certified. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/first-existing-multifamily-buildings-earn-energy-star-certification Standard 189.1 Inches Toward LEED in New Revision http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/standard-1891-inches-toward-leed-new-revision 20786 2014-11-20 12 2014 The 2014 version of the Green Building Standard responds to updates in Standard 90.1 and shows glimpses of future harmonization with LEED and IgCC. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/standard-1891-inches-toward-leed-new-revision Air in Fitness Centers Laden with Pollutants, Study Finds http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/air-fitness-centers-laden-pollutants-study-finds 20787 2014-11-20 12 2014 Lack of ventilation and elevated levels of VOCs are common problems in gyms, according to European research, and pools have issues too. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/air-fitness-centers-laden-pollutants-study-finds Attention, Employers: Green Design Tied to Fewer Sick Days http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/attention-employers-green-design-tied-fewer-sick-days 20716 2014-11-03 11 2014 Increased worker health and productivity offers a strong financial incentive for employers to adopt green design features, according to a recent report. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/attention-employers-green-design-tied-fewer-sick-days In Milestone, Top Chemistry Award Goes to Green Pioneer http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/milestone-top-chemistry-award-goes-green-pioneer 20713 2014-11-03 11 2014 The Perkin Medal recognizes John Warner for developing more sustainable processes and educating the next generation of chemists. Newsbrief 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/milestone-top-chemistry-award-goes-green-pioneer LEDs Finally Hitting Stride in Supporting Health, Productivity http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leds-finally-hitting-stride-supporting-health-productivity 20710 2014-11-03 11 2014 By allowing tunability of color and intensity, USAI’s Color Select LED technology can match the natural daylight cycle and needs of end users. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leds-finally-hitting-stride-supporting-health-productivity How Environmental Site Assessments Work http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-environmental-site-assessments-work 20722 2014-11-03 11 2014 Existing buildings and previously developed sites are great, but they often need environmental cleanup. An ESA is the first step. BackPage Primer 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-environmental-site-assessments-work First Few EBDs Take Impact Declarations to the Building Scale http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/first-few-ebds-take-impact-declarations-building-scale 20711 2014-11-03 11 2014 Following the trend of product declarations, Lafarge Canada has published one of the first environmental building declarations for its new research facility. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/first-few-ebds-take-impact-declarations-building-scale Phthalates in the Womb Linked to Asthma-Prone Kids http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/phthalates-womb-linked-asthma-prone-kids 20715 2014-11-03 11 2014 A longitudinal study suggests childhood asthma can be traced to the mother’s exposure to plasticizers during pregnancy. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/phthalates-womb-linked-asthma-prone-kids