EBN Articles http://www2.buildinggreen.com/rss/articles en How ‘Safe’ Chemicals Could Team Up to Cause Cancer http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-safe-chemicals-could-team-cause-cancer 22125 2015-07-29 8 2015 Chemicals that are benign on their own may turn malignant in combination with others circulating in the environment, researchers warn. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-safe-chemicals-could-team-cause-cancer Cladding Industry Agrees to One Rulebook for Conducting LCAs http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/cladding-industry-agrees-one-rulebook-conducting-lcas 22129 2015-07-29 8 2015 One set of rules, called PCRs, now governs environmental reporting for all cladding products, regardless of whether they are wood, vinyl, or metal. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/cladding-industry-agrees-one-rulebook-conducting-lcas Consolidation of Green Codes Continues http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/consolidation-green-codes-continues 22123 2015-07-27 8 2015 In response to calls from the industry, the two most prominent green codes will be consolidated, with ASHRAE 189.1 to serve as the backbone of IgCC. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/consolidation-green-codes-continues SITES Exits Legal Limbo by Joining GBCI http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/sites-exits-legal-limbo-joining-gbci 22122 2015-07-23 8 2015 The landscaping equivalent of LEED has joined the ranks of programs falling under GBCI’s green certification portfolio. News 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/sites-exits-legal-limbo-joining-gbci Is Particleboard Deadly? Formaldehyde Emissions Explained http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/particleboard-deadly-formaldehyde-emissions-explained 22063 2015-07-06 7 2015 Formaldehyde emissions from composite wood products will soon be strictly regulated in the U.S., but questions remain. BackPage Primer 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/particleboard-deadly-formaldehyde-emissions-explained All-in-One Sheathing and Air Barrier Speeds Construction http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/all-one-sheathing-and-air-barrier-speeds-construction 22064 2015-07-06 7 2015 The Securock ExoAir 430 system combines USG’s gypsum sheathing with a factory-applied air-and-water barrier from Tremco for jobsite quality control. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/all-one-sheathing-and-air-barrier-speeds-construction The Great Transparent Elevator: Disclosure on the Rise for Conveying Systems http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/great-transparent-elevator-disclosure-rise-conveying-systems 22066 2015-07-06 7 2015 ThyssenKrupp is documenting its footprint and optimizing ingredients for some of the most complex and costly building systems: elevators. Product Review 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/great-transparent-elevator-disclosure-rise-conveying-systems Design Strategies for Occupant Engagement—and Why They Boost Performance http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/design-strategies-occupant-engagement-and-why-they-boost-performance 22061 2015-07-06 7 2015 Researchers reveal simple ways to empower occupants to reduce energy, water, and waste. It all starts with good design. Feature 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/design-strategies-occupant-engagement-and-why-they-boost-performance GSA Links High-Performance Outcomes to Integrated Design http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/gsa-links-high-performance-outcomes-integrated-design 22060 2015-06-30 7 2015 Project teams appear to function better, and their buildings end up greener, under collaborative project delivery. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/gsa-links-high-performance-outcomes-integrated-design Automatic LEED Points for CALGreen Code Compliance http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/automatic-leed-points-calgreen-code-compliance 22057 2015-06-30 7 2015 Little more than a building permit is now needed to document six LEED credits if your project is subject to California code requirements. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/automatic-leed-points-calgreen-code-compliance Fedrizzi Announces Departure from USGBC http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/fedrizzi-announces-departure-usgbc 22059 2015-06-29 7 2015 The board has until the end of 2016 to complete its search for the leader’s replacement. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/fedrizzi-announces-departure-usgbc Green Real Estate Trusts Yield Higher Returns http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-real-estate-trusts-yield-higher-returns 22058 2015-06-29 7 2015 A high GRESB score could mark a good real estate stock or equity investment, according to researchers. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-real-estate-trusts-yield-higher-returns Class of 2030: Groups Agitate for Sustainability in Architecture Schools http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/class-2030-groups-agitate-sustainability-architecture-schools 22055 2015-06-25 7 2015 Not everyone was satisfied with the 2014 environmental building criteria conditions from the NAAB. Here's what's happening now. News 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/class-2030-groups-agitate-sustainability-architecture-schools LEED 101: A Syllabus Supplement for Green Building Coursework http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-101-syllabus-supplement-green-building-coursework 22042 2015-06-23 This syllabus supplement provides professors and students with content on LEED from BuildingGreen, LEEDuser, and other relevant resources. From the Editors 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-101-syllabus-supplement-green-building-coursework Off-Site Construction Can Cut Project Time 73% http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/site-construction-can-cut-project-time-73 22032 2015-06-19 7 2015 The pressures of prefabrication encourage an integrative process and on-time project delivery, though transportation and building culture remain issues. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/site-construction-can-cut-project-time-73 Green Label to Highlight Sustainable Building Products in Resource Libraries http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-label-highlight-sustainable-building-products-resource-libraries 22033 2015-06-19 7 2015 With its free Mindful Materials label, HKS Architects offers a quick reference for finding green products on library shelves. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-label-highlight-sustainable-building-products-resource-libraries Health and Wellness Trending Among Interior Designers http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/health-and-wellness-trending-among-interior-designers 22034 2015-06-19 7 2015 ASID’s Outlook Report ranks health and wellness first and sustainability third in most influential industry trends. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/health-and-wellness-trending-among-interior-designers Green Building Materials 101: A Syllabus Supplement http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-building-materials-101-syllabus-supplement 22024 2015-06-16 College professors: introduce students to healthier and lower-impact materials and products with this curriculum using BuildingGreen articles. From the Editors 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-building-materials-101-syllabus-supplement Low-Cost 3D Wall Panels Use Sugarcane Waste http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/low-cost-3d-wall-panels-use-sugarcane-waste 21954 2015-06-01 6 2015 Inhabit and WallArt offer decorative three-dimensional wall panels made from bagasse, or sugarcane waste fiber, and with no chemical binders or flame retardants. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/low-cost-3d-wall-panels-use-sugarcane-waste Why Post-Occupancy Review Is the Future of Design (And How It Can Serve You Now) http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/why-post-occupancy-review-future-design-and-how-it-can-serve-you-now 21958 2015-06-01 6 2015 A radical new paradigm is on the way for engaging with projects after they’re “completed”—and clients couldn’t be happier. Feature 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/why-post-occupancy-review-future-design-and-how-it-can-serve-you-now Recycled Vinyl Flooring May Contain Lead http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/recycled-vinyl-flooring-may-contain-lead 21955 2015-06-01 6 2015 Recycled PVC inside vinyl floor tiles often contains lead and other additives from rubber-covered wiring, according to researchers. Product News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/recycled-vinyl-flooring-may-contain-lead Design for Environment Label Now “Safer Choice” http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/design-environment-label-now-safer-choice 21956 2015-06-01 6 2015 EPA has shifted its labeling of chemically safer products and expanded to include Fragrance-Free in its criteria. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/design-environment-label-now-safer-choice New Label from ILFI to “Reveal” Building Energy Data http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-label-ilfi-reveal-building-energy-data 21961 2015-06-01 6 2015 Buildings will be able to display a standard label showing energy use under a new program from the International Living Future Institute. News 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-label-ilfi-reveal-building-energy-data Chemical Footprinting: Companies Take Stock of Their Toxic Impact http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/chemical-footprinting-companies-take-stock-their-toxic-impact 21953 2015-06-01 6 2015 Harmful chemicals are more difficult to quantify than carbon emissions but are equally destructive. Now you can track manufacturers’ chemical footprints. BackPage Primer 18478 Candace Pearson 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/chemical-footprinting-companies-take-stock-their-toxic-impact Can Bioinspired Innovations Find Economic Footing? http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-bioinspired-innovations-find-economic-footing 21957 2015-06-01 6 2015 Biophilia and biomimicry captivate the mind and senses, but are they economically viable? A report from Terrapin Bright Green says yes. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-bioinspired-innovations-find-economic-footing