EBN Articles http://www2.buildinggreen.com/rss/articles en GSA Links High-Performance Outcomes to Integrated Design http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/gsa-links-high-performance-outcomes-integrated-design 22060 2015-06-30 7 2015 Project teams appear to function better, and their buildings end up greener, under collaborative project delivery. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/gsa-links-high-performance-outcomes-integrated-design Automatic LEED Points for CALGreen Code Compliance http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/automatic-leed-points-calgreen-code-compliance 22057 2015-06-30 7 2015 Little more than a building permit is now needed to document six LEED credits if your project is subject to California code requirements. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/automatic-leed-points-calgreen-code-compliance Green Real Estate Trusts Yield Higher Returns http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-real-estate-trusts-yield-higher-returns 22058 2015-06-29 7 2015 A high GRESB score could mark a good real estate stock or equity investment, according to researchers. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-real-estate-trusts-yield-higher-returns Fedrizzi Announces Departure from USGBC http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/fedrizzi-announces-departure-usgbc 22059 2015-06-29 7 2015 The board has until the end of 2016 to complete its search for the leader’s replacement. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/fedrizzi-announces-departure-usgbc Class of 2030: Groups Agitate for Sustainability in Architecture Schools http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/class-2030-groups-agitate-sustainability-architecture-schools 22055 2015-06-25 7 2015 Not everyone was satisfied with the 2014 environmental building criteria conditions from the NAAB. Here's what's happening now. News 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/class-2030-groups-agitate-sustainability-architecture-schools LEED 101: A Syllabus Supplement for Green Building Coursework http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-101-syllabus-supplement-green-building-coursework 22042 2015-06-23 This syllabus supplement provides professors and students with content on LEED from BuildingGreen, LEEDuser, and other relevant resources. From the Editors 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-101-syllabus-supplement-green-building-coursework Off-Site Construction Can Cut Project Time 73% http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/site-construction-can-cut-project-time-73 22032 2015-06-19 7 2015 The pressures of prefabrication encourage an integrative process and on-time project delivery, though transportation and building culture remain issues. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/site-construction-can-cut-project-time-73 Green Label to Highlight Sustainable Building Products in Resource Libraries http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-label-highlight-sustainable-building-products-resource-libraries 22033 2015-06-19 7 2015 With its free Mindful Materials label, HKS Architects offers a quick reference for finding green products on library shelves. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-label-highlight-sustainable-building-products-resource-libraries Health and Wellness Trending Among Interior Designers http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/health-and-wellness-trending-among-interior-designers 22034 2015-06-19 7 2015 ASID’s Outlook Report ranks health and wellness first and sustainability third in most influential industry trends. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/health-and-wellness-trending-among-interior-designers Green Building Materials 101: A Syllabus Supplement http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-building-materials-101-syllabus-supplement 22024 2015-06-16 College professors: introduce students to healthier and lower-impact materials and products with this curriculum using BuildingGreen articles. From the Editors 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-building-materials-101-syllabus-supplement Low-Cost 3D Wall Panels Use Sugarcane Waste http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/low-cost-3d-wall-panels-use-sugarcane-waste 21954 2015-06-01 6 2015 Inhabit and WallArt offer decorative three-dimensional wall panels made from bagasse, or sugarcane waste fiber, and with no chemical binders or flame retardants. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/low-cost-3d-wall-panels-use-sugarcane-waste Why Post-Occupancy Review Is the Future of Design (And How It Can Serve You Now) http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/why-post-occupancy-review-future-design-and-how-it-can-serve-you-now 21958 2015-06-01 6 2015 A radical new paradigm is on the way for engaging with projects after they’re “completed”—and clients couldn’t be happier. Feature 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/why-post-occupancy-review-future-design-and-how-it-can-serve-you-now Recycled Vinyl Flooring May Contain Lead http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/recycled-vinyl-flooring-may-contain-lead 21955 2015-06-01 6 2015 Recycled PVC inside vinyl floor tiles often contains lead and other additives from rubber-covered wiring, according to researchers. Product News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/recycled-vinyl-flooring-may-contain-lead Design for Environment Label Now “Safer Choice” http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/design-environment-label-now-safer-choice 21956 2015-06-01 6 2015 EPA has shifted its labeling of chemically safer products and expanded to include Fragrance-Free in its criteria. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/design-environment-label-now-safer-choice New Label from ILFI to “Reveal” Building Energy Data http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-label-ilfi-reveal-building-energy-data 21961 2015-06-01 6 2015 Buildings will be able to display a standard label showing energy use under a new program from the International Living Future Institute. News 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-label-ilfi-reveal-building-energy-data Chemical Footprinting: Companies Take Stock of Their Toxic Impact http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/chemical-footprinting-companies-take-stock-their-toxic-impact 21953 2015-06-01 6 2015 Harmful chemicals are more difficult to quantify than carbon emissions but are equally destructive. Now you can track manufacturers’ chemical footprints. BackPage Primer 18478 Candace Pearson 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/chemical-footprinting-companies-take-stock-their-toxic-impact Can Bioinspired Innovations Find Economic Footing? http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-bioinspired-innovations-find-economic-footing 21957 2015-06-01 6 2015 Biophilia and biomimicry captivate the mind and senses, but are they economically viable? A report from Terrapin Bright Green says yes. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-bioinspired-innovations-find-economic-footing Study Reveals Nuances of Occupant Engagement Strategies http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/study-reveals-nuances-occupant-engagement-strategies 21960 2015-05-29 6 2015 A focus on health and comfort has helped engage 35% of residents in one affordable housing complex in reducing energy use. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/study-reveals-nuances-occupant-engagement-strategies New Online Portal for AIA 2030 Eases Burden of Reporting http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-online-portal-aia-2030-eases-burden-reporting 21943 2015-05-19 6 2015 You can ditch the reporting spreadsheets. Benchmarking the 2030 Commitment is now streamlined online. Newsbrief 18495 Nadav Malin http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-online-portal-aia-2030-eases-burden-reporting White Roofs in Cold Climates a Mistake, Says LCA Study http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/white-roofs-cold-climates-mistake-says-lca-study 21925 2015-04-28 5 0 While roofs with solar panels are a plus, researchers suggest white roofs in Canada do more harm than good because of steep heating penalties. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/white-roofs-cold-climates-mistake-says-lca-study Building Owners “Shafted” by Antiquated Fire Codes http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/building-owners-shafted-antiquated-fire-codes 21924 2015-04-28 5 0 In NYC and beyond, old regulations for elevator shafts waste energy —to the tune of millions of dollars every year. Urban Green Council offers solutions. Newsbrief 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/building-owners-shafted-antiquated-fire-codes How to Make Integrated Project Delivery Work for Your Project http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-make-integrated-project-delivery-work-your-project 21902 2015-04-22 5 0 Early successes with IPD are now legendary but also fostered misconceptions. We deconstruct those and provide tips to ensure collaboration translates to results. Feature 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/how-make-integrated-project-delivery-work-your-project Polyiso Impacts Are High, but Performance May Make Up for Them http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/polyiso-impacts-are-high-performance-may-make-them 21899 2015-04-21 5 0 An EPD for polyisocyanurate insulation shows large embodied impacts while suggesting R-value cancels some of them out. Product News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/polyiso-impacts-are-high-performance-may-make-them Getting “Conflict Minerals” Out of Our Products http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/getting-conflict-minerals-out-our-products 21898 2015-04-20 5 0 While “blood diamonds” get attention, mining of metals like tin and tungsten helps finance civil wars. Here’s a look at the movement to change that. BackPage Primer 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/getting-conflict-minerals-out-our-products Innovative Australian Fan Blows Into U.S. http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/innovative-australian-fan-blows-us 21897 2015-04-20 5 0 A new energy-efficient fan from Aeratron offers performance and looks at a reasonable cost. Product Review 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/innovative-australian-fan-blows-us