EBN Articles http://www2.buildinggreen.com/rss/articles en California Could Go Solar Without Destroying Habitat http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/california-could-go-solar-without-destroying-habitat 21894 2015-04-17 5 0 If PV were installed only in developed locations throughout California, the state could meets its energy needs three to five times over. News 21895 Alana Fichman http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/california-could-go-solar-without-destroying-habitat Reduce Your Audit Risk with the R&D Tax Credit: Five Tips http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/reduce-your-audit-risk-rd-tax-credit-five-tips 21896 2015-04-17 5 0 The federal R&D credit looks like low-hanging fruit, but there might be a worm in the apple. Experts share lower-risk ways for AEC firms to file. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/reduce-your-audit-risk-rd-tax-credit-five-tips LEED Offers Living Building Challenge Alignment http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-offers-living-building-challenge-alignment 21878 2015-04-10 5 0 Projects certified under LBC will be able to get full LEED credit in energy and water categories without added documentation. News 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/leed-offers-living-building-challenge-alignment Aerogel Coating May Reduce Thermal Bridging http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aerogel-coating-may-reduce-thermal-bridging 21851 2015-04-06 4 2015 Thermal breaks can be pricey and may affect structural integrity. Aerolon is a non-structural alternative designed to have similar benefits. Product Review 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aerogel-coating-may-reduce-thermal-bridging 12377 Finding Furniture Without Toxic Flame Retardants http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/finding-furniture-without-toxic-flame-retardants 21849 2015-04-06 4 2015 Flame retardants in upholstered furniture are easier to avoid under new rules, but they’re not gone. Here’s how to navigate the changing landscape. Feature 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/finding-furniture-without-toxic-flame-retardants Carbon and Financial Payback Mismatched in Retrofits http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/carbon-and-financial-payback-mismatched-retrofits 21846 2015-04-06 4 2015 Lighting, windows, or the chiller? Choosing a retrofit package is all the more tricky when dollar and carbon ROI are at odds. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/carbon-and-financial-payback-mismatched-retrofits The Five Hazard Warnings You Can Usually Ignore http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/five-hazard-warnings-you-can-usually-ignore 21850 2015-04-06 4 2015 Can you identify which toxic chemicals listed on an HPD probably can’t hurt you? BackPage Primer 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/five-hazard-warnings-you-can-usually-ignore A New, Cost-Effective Take on Vacuum Insulation http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-cost-effective-take-vacuum-insulation 21847 2015-04-06 4 2015 “Modified atmosphere insulation” technology may be able to rival the performance of vacuum insulation panels at a more affordable price. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-cost-effective-take-vacuum-insulation 10919 Can Products Do More Good Than Harm? The Living Product Challenge http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-products-do-more-good-harm-living-product-challenge 21848 2015-04-02 4 2015 ILFI is challenging companies to make a product with a positive “handprint” rather than a “footprint.” And it has to be affordable. Product News 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/can-products-do-more-good-harm-living-product-challenge A Concrete Phoenix Rises: Meet the Brutalist Tiny House http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/concrete-phoenix-rises-meet-brutalist-tiny-house 21831 2015-04-01 Two great movements—from the past and present—come together in a towable 45,000 lb. package April Fools http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/concrete-phoenix-rises-meet-brutalist-tiny-house Green Globes’ Yudelson to Continue Labors at Mt. Olympus http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-globes-yudelson-continue-labors-mt-olympus 21827 2015-04-01 Having failed at his recent task of making Green Globes a credible standard, Yudelson still has twelve to complete. April Fools 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/green-globes-yudelson-continue-labors-mt-olympus Bewitching Designs Snag Coveted Resilience Awards http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/bewitching-designs-snag-coveted-resilience-awards 21832 2015-04-01 Self-propulsion wins the night at this year’s Rizzies, but a controversy brews. April Fools 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/bewitching-designs-snag-coveted-resilience-awards Judge Robs Yost of Gold Medal in WUFI Modeling http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/judge-robs-yost-gold-medal-wufi-modeling 21828 2015-04-01 Despite a perfect 10 for Yost from two of the judges, this year’s WUFIlympics gold medal goes to Terry Brennan. April Fools 18480 Paula Melton 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/judge-robs-yost-gold-medal-wufi-modeling WELL Building Auditor Will Drink Your Milkshake http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/well-building-auditor-will-drink-your-milkshake 21825 2015-04-01 The WELL standard for healthy spaces and lifestyles is backed by onsite auditing, but some occupants would prefer to slowly kill themselves in peace. April Fools 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/well-building-auditor-will-drink-your-milkshake Scientists Report 165% Performance Boost from New Additive http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/scientists-report-165-performance-boost-new-additive 21829 2015-04-01 The industry’s most respected semanticists have developed a new eco-prefix—but do they have the numbers to back up their claims? April Fools 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/scientists-report-165-performance-boost-new-additive AIA-Certified Projects Pulling Ahead of LEED http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aia-certified-projects-pulling-ahead-leed 21826 2015-04-01 Pilot AIA-certified green projects are changing the rules for “green,” throwing sacred cows out of the many, many windows. April Fools 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/aia-certified-projects-pulling-ahead-leed Will Aggressive Performance Goals Fit Under Google’s Glass Tent? http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/will-aggressive-performance-goals-fit-under-google-s-glass-tent 21805 2015-03-23 4 2015 The design of Google’s green headquarters hinges on new technologies, like a “glass fabric” enclosure. News 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/will-aggressive-performance-goals-fit-under-google-s-glass-tent Yudelson Steps Down from Green Globes http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/yudelson-steps-down-green-globes 21806 2015-03-20 4 2015 After just over a year at the helm of the Green Building Initiative (GBI), Jerry Yudelson has made a sudden exit, with an old hand stepping back up to lead. News 18497 Tristan Roberts 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/yudelson-steps-down-green-globes New Guide Helps Avoid Pitfalls in Ground-Source Heat Pump Design http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-guide-helps-avoid-pitfalls-ground-source-heat-pump-design 21795 2015-03-17 4 2015 Overly complex loop designs and controls limit the commercial applicability of ground-source heat pumps. A new guide shows a better way. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-guide-helps-avoid-pitfalls-ground-source-heat-pump-design Anti-Aging Research Applied to Glass and Concrete http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/anti-aging-research-applied-glass-and-concrete 21796 2015-03-17 4 2015 Researchers unlock the secret of eternal youth for glass and cement by studying optimal pressure during manufacturing. Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/anti-aging-research-applied-glass-and-concrete New Thinkstep Launchpad for Sustainability Apps Bolstered by LCA Data http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-thinkstep-launchpad-sustainability-apps-bolstered-lca-data 21321 2015-03-11 4 2015 Rebranded as thinkstep, the life-cycle assessment firm PE International promises a new platform to integrate product data and more. News 18480 Paula Melton http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-thinkstep-launchpad-sustainability-apps-bolstered-lca-data Plum Creek SFI Certification, Audit Process Challenged in Oregon http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/plum-creek-sfi-certification-audit-process-challenged-oregon 21230 2015-03-03 3 2015 An Oregon nonprofit is seeking to suspend Plum Creek’s SFI certificate in Oregon due to legal violations. The company says it has already addressed the issues. News 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/plum-creek-sfi-certification-audit-process-challenged-oregon Natural Stormwater Treatment Saves Salmons’ Lives http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/natural-stormwater-treatment-saves-salmons-lives 21227 2015-03-03 3 2015 A new study shows biofiltration systems save the lives of salmon and the insects they prey on. How’s that for a stormwater quality metric? Newsbrief 18478 Candace Pearson http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/natural-stormwater-treatment-saves-salmons-lives Certified Wood: How SFI Compares to FSC http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/certified-wood-how-sfi-compares-fsc 21235 2015-03-03 3 2015 FSC-certified wood is ingrained in rating systems like LEED, but rival SFI has a revised standard. Can it show it’s just as good on the issues that matter most? Feature 18497 Tristan Roberts http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/certified-wood-how-sfi-compares-fsc New Refrigerants, Less Global Warming http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-refrigerants-less-global-warming 21228 2015-03-03 3 2015 HFOs usher in a new era of refrigerants and foam insulation blowing agents with low global warming potential. BackPage Primer 18491 Brent Ehrlich http://www2.buildinggreen.com/article/new-refrigerants-less-global-warming